10 signs a CTO has an Executive Mindset

People often say that I am negative about CTOs.

I can see why I can come across like this — because I write about what I observe.

And obviously in my work, I am going to observe the negative traits and situations because that’s when my clients need support.

To flip the coin, I have thought below about what would be 10 signs that a CTO has developed an Executive Mindset?

Here’s my list:

1. They value business results, not just how much they (or others they hire!) know deep elements of technology!

2. Has a clear tech vision, but not only that, it also aligns with the business vision. Otherwise, why do it? For the fun of it?!

3. They are proactive about solving company problems. If they are someone who is constantly fire fighting and hops from problem to problem, they clearly don’t think like an exec.

4. Makes a business case for any budget or resource they ask from the board/CXOs. They don’t see their questioning as a threat, but as an opportunity to showcase engineering as a value centre, not a cost centre.

5. The metrics they create for engineering help them convey to the board and to the other non technical department how engineering is…

--

--

Adelina Chalmers a.k.a The Geek Whisperer

Helps Engineers who are Leaders (CEO/ CTO/ VP) get buy-in from their peers/teams/investors by transforming Communication techniques into Algorithms