Should you get a CTO advisor when you accept the job offer of promotion to CTO?

--

“I’m worried they’ll think I’m rubbish at my job, if I ask for a CTO advisor 3 months into the job”. By the time they get to 9–18 months in the role, the problem becomes really pressing!!

“I’m worried they’ll think I’m rubbish at my job, if I ask for a CTO advisor 3 months into the job, but I’d really like to work with you”

— is what I hear over and over again from CTOs who just joined or got promoted to CTO or VPE or HoE within a company.

By the time they get to 9–18 months in the role, the problem becomes really pressing!!

When you:

✓ join a company as CTO and you have to manage people as part of the role, ask for an advisor as part of your conditions of joining the business

OR

✓ are promoted to VP Engineering or CTO and yesterday you were Lead Developer or Engineering Manager — as a part of the promotion, ask for an advisor

OR

✓ when you join as a sole coder with a CTO job title, say that as soon as you start managing people, you’ll need an advisor.

Conversely, if you are the CEO of a company, please offer your CTO and CPO or VPP or VPE an advisor as part of the job offer or part of the promotion!

I was talking with the CEO of a company a few years ago who knew I knew their CTO from previous roles.

The CEO said:

“I’d like to offer him an advisor but I don’t want to offend him”.

The CTO in the same company would tell me:

“I’d love an advisor but I’m scared to ask as I just joined 3 months ago and I don’t want them to think I’m incompetent.”

In the end I had to tell them:

“Talk to each other about this. You’ll discover you both want the same thing!”

Have you ever considered asking for an advisor as part of accepting a CTO/VPE/HoE job offer?

What stops you from asking for an advisor as part of an offer for a promotion from Lead Engineer to VPE?

#engineering #ceo #cto #vpe #cpo #vpp #promotion
#reengineeringleadership

--

--

Adelina Chalmers a.k.a The Geek Whisperer

Helps Engineers who are Leaders (CEO/ CTO/ VP) get buy-in from their peers/teams/investors by transforming Communication techniques into Algorithms